Something like my life story

I grew up in Kansas City with four siblings and two work-from-home parents. My dad is a salesman and business-starter and my mom is an artist. I like to think that I got my creativity from her and my analytical side from him, but they are really both creative and both analytical in their own ways. Also, I'm not a geneticist.

I went to Oberlin, where I spent five years earning a BA in art history and a B.Music in vocal performance (read: opera singing). I love Oberlin: it is a place full of passionate people with high standards but a lot of kindness as well. (I spent my senior year of high school studying voice at Interlochen Arts Academy, which happens to also have totally fantastic academics.) I love singing, but not the utter uncertainty of the profession. (It's a similar life to being an aspiring actor.)

I was ready to live in a Big City. But instead, I was convinced by the then-new VP for Communications to stay in Oberlin for a year and work for him. That was the job that made me love the internet. I enjoyed it plenty already, but that year became much more interested in how it works.

After two stints as an administrative assistant in San Francisco, I decided it'd be fun to learn to code. I did a few tutorials online, and then heard about a free (!) weekend workshop specifically for women to learn Rails. It was at that workshop that I met the woman who would become my manager at VerticalResponse. A few weeks later, I found myself gainfully employed in tech support. Eight months after that (and largely due to my coding hobby), I got promoted to Sales Engineer, where I supported client developers working with the VerticalResponse API.

After a year of helping people write integrations with VerticalResponse, I was ready to be writing code myself. So I attended Dev Bootcamp, a nine week, super-intense, super-fun web development program, and polished up the programming skills I'd been working on for a couple of years.

I'm now a software engineer at Omada Health, and we make a four-month online course that helps pre-diabetic folks avoid getting type-2 diabetes called Prevent. My team builds the web app that our participants use to learn about eating better, being more physically active, and not feeling like a bad person when they fail at those things. And I love my team! They are totally wonderful, silly, smart human beings that are a pleasure to work with and learn from. I couldn’t be happier about where I’ve landed.

When I'm not at work, I'm either thinking about RailsBridge, the organization that first taught me rails, or Double Union, the San Francisco feminist hacker/makerspace where I'm CTO. (Which means I'm the lead developer and product person for the Double Union web app, all rolled into one!)

I love sincerity, silliness, dogs, cats, and babies. (The last three probably for how silly and sincere they are.) I live with my husband and code reviewer Travis, and when we're not working on RailsBridge stuff, we're probably watching serious and silly TV shows. We have a four-foot tall plush giraffe wizard (it wears a wizard hat, at least) who looks out the bay windows of our apartment. It doesn't have a name.